Anything Can Happen: a lesson my nephews taught me.

Hello world,

It’s been a while.

I cannot tell you how many times I have opened up my laptop and tried writing blog posts in the past two months. I was either drawn away for some reason I cannot remember, or I simply had no inspiration. That combination has been my writing companion since the first week of November.

So… I never got to write a November re-cap, and now December is half way over and it’s nearly time to say goodbye to 2016.

What’s happened?

The most exciting and most note-worthy moment in the past few weeks is that my family has grown by one more heart. On December 10th, my sister and her husband welcomed their second son. It was also my sister’s birthday, so double the celebration.

I had the opportunity to stay with them for a few weeks leading up to the baby’s birth, helping them with their first born.

Let me tell you, watching a 2 year old is no joke. 

But the moments I got to spend with my nephew were priceless.

Nothing made me ponder life more than being with a two year old, and then holding an 18 hour year old. 

There I was, my sister needing to rest while waiting for her new baby, and my two year old nephew inviting me to go on adventures. How could I say no?

There is something so beautiful about a child’s imagination.

Anything can happen.

There’s something so wonderful about being two, your life literally has just begun.

Anything can happen.

I heard my second nephew’s cry at 12:06 am…his life began.

And anything can happen.

Isn’t it beautiful? We get to see these children learn who they are and discover themselves, and figure out what this thing called life is.

And all the while, we are concerned with what we have to teach them, that we might miss the lessons they might teach us.

We grow up and forget that anything can happen. And chances are, it will happen.

So as 2016 is almost at it’s finale, I am considering 2 resolutions.

The first has to do with something that my 2 year old nephew taught me…

Be more adventurous. 

Because the only way to have a good story, is to do something.
The only way to make yourself grow is to step outside of your comfort zone.

Everything is an adventure, according to a certain two year old boy.

Climbing a flight of stairs? An adventure of climbing a mountain.
Going to eat food? Yet another adventure.

He would put on his cap and yell, “Adbenture!”
And run around the room.

And in that silly little moment I knew…
every moment is an adventure, make the most of every moment.

And when anything can (and does) happen, don’t let it scare you.
It’s just another adventure.

I am choosing to be brave and adventurous no matter what happens.
And I am deciding to step out of my comfort zone more than ever.

And the second is something my one week old nephew has taught me…

Live.

You see, I never considered how great a miracle life truly is.
I have always lived life, but now I want to live it to the fullest.
Because as I held my 18 hour old nephew, and he slept in my arms, I knew all he had been through to get there.

And it was beautiful.

Maybe these little boys will grow up to change the world.
But I know they’ve changed my world.

Here’s to 2017, full of life and adventure.

Because like a two year old’s world, anything can happen.

15492266_753269971490376_7322930107748728368_n

“I hear babies crying, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.”

5 thoughts on “Anything Can Happen: a lesson my nephews taught me.

Leave a Reply

