Don’t Give Up on Us

This is an open letter to the Church, the body of Christ, Christians in general, from the generation that comes after the Millennials. 🙂

So dear Church,

Don’t give up on us. 

I know a lot of millennials have tried changing church, or changing doctrine, or shaking things up. Change can be okay to some extent, but not when you end up rejecting the truth.

Which is what I feel like has been happening a lot.

I think it’s the reason that I scroll through Facebook and see the older generation posting articles of warning to the church, and listing what’s wrong with what’s going on.

But if it gives you any hope, let me tell you about the next generation that is rising up.
I think you’re all really focused on the Millennials that you forget about the next generation, my generation.

Upon talking to some of my friends, one thing seems to be consistent in the way they talk about the Lord…

They all want to see a revival, not a revolution.

A revolution is defined as an overthrow, or re-establishment of something that is already established. A sudden, complete or marked change in something.

A revival is defined as a restoration to life, to make operative or valid again, to bring back into notice, or use.

I know I cannot speak on be-half of all of my generation, but I have been noticing God placing the same kind of desires on a lot of peoples hearts, the same longing and prayer.
It’s as though God is placing similar callings on peoples hearts, if you listen to some of these people, you would be amazed by what God has already been doing in their lives at such a young age.

It’s in subtle ways, here and there, I see one person have a spark, the other person carrying the torch, other people clearing the way for the race. Not literally, but you get the idea. Something is happening.


Don’t lose hope, don’t give up on us.

Please preserve the truth and encourage us.

Don’t waste time condemning, instead I ask you to please pray for our generation.

It’s definitely not easy.

We want the faith that our parents had. I don’t know what happened, but whatever you guys had back in the day seems to have died.
As though you didn’t pass the torch and so it stayed in the past and withered.

Pass the torch.

I think what the millennials have done, both good and bad, has prepared the way for whatever God has designed for the next generation.

It reminds of how farmers will rest certain fields so that when they plant in them again the crops will do better.

Maybe the church has been in a resting stage, hasn’t really gone anywhere yet.

But soon.

We are not rejecting Christ, we long to see people receive Christ.

I thought I was the only one praying for a revival, a great awakening, a moment that we have life in our church again…but I realized that I am not alone.
We all just seem to be keeping silent. Waiting and pursuing God.

We don’t want a show, we don’t want fake or feel good messages.
We want something real.

Give us something real, something to hold onto, something to run with.

And most of all, please don’t give up on us.

I think there were a lot of millennials that were trying and are trying.
But because others give up on them, they give up on themselves.

I don’t want to see the same thing happen to the next generation.

And to my generation,
as I am writing this, a Keith Green song has come on…and I know, you probably have no idea who that even is, I grew up listening to him thanks to my parents. But there’s a set of lyrics I want to share with you…

Oh, can’t you see such sin?!
The world is sleeping in the dark,
That the church just can’t fight,
’cause it’s asleep in the light!
How can you be so dead?!
When you’ve been so well famed
Jesus rose from the grave,
And you!
You can’t even get out of bed!
Oh, Jesus rose from the dead!
Come on, get out of your bed!

How can you be so numb?!
Not to care if they come
You close your eyes,
And pretend the job is done!
You close your eyes,
And pretend the job is done!
Don’t close your eyes,
Don’t pretend the job is done.

There’s a job to be done my friends.
Rise up, open your eyes.
You can’t have a great awakening if no one wakes up.

So wake up.

 

6 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up on Us

  1. Emily Furda says:

    Anna,
    This is PERFECT!
    I see the same thing (how was I born right on the edge of gen x & millenial?) I see so many of your generation demanding more. Not demanding to take, but demanding more from yourselves. You want more of God & are leading the way.

    It actually annoys me to death when people stereotype millenials & your generation (I feel old typing that.) I don’t see what’s wrong, I see what’s right. I see people who want a change. You want more because you want to BE more. You’re leading the way and teaching so many as you do. You don’t just take what’s given. You learn, apply, add your own and run in the best possible way. We need to step up, stop complaining, and be more. We need you. You make me want to be more.
    Emily

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jennabill says:

    I think you’d really enjoy the book Fireseeds of Spiritual Awakening by Dan Hayes! It tells stories of revival, particularly focusing on revivals on college campuses, from the 1800s all the way up to 2011, and outlines all the patterns & prerequisites of revival & how to pray for revival. It’s an easy yet intensely inspirational read! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

