Stop Hesitating and Go Write | Writing Wednesday

Hello lovely humans,

I have writer’s block while trying to write about writing.
So I did what any writer does,  went on Pinterest to find some inspiration and then I came across this quote:

“I think new writers are too worried that it’s all been said before. Sure it has, but not by you.”

*boom*

Everything has been seen. Every word has already been spoken. Every sound has been heard.

But every person sees something different, says something differently, and hears something different.

Your story and writing will naturally fall into its own rhythm and style.

Don’t get so caught up in trying to figure out your originality and style. Just go write.

It’ll take shape.

Here’s something amazing about being a writer: you never stop learning and growing.
And somehow, almost accidentally, your writing ends up helping you.

You never know what your book will be until you write, because you never know unless you try.

I remember many conversations with my brother (whom is also writing a book). We’d go in circles of what we want our books to be, what we want our readers to feel, how we want our characters to be. I eventually got tired of talking about what I wanted it to be and I realized that it would never get there unless I keep writing.

So if you’re a new writer, don’t be discouraged if your writing isn’t where you want it to be.

You have to start somewhere. And you usually start at the bottom.

Which leads me to one last quote…

“Don’t be afraid to write crap, crap makes great fertilizer.”

(Thank you, Pinterest.)

So go write and stop hesitating.

It’ll grow, but it can’t grow unless you nurture it and help it along.

That’s all for todays thought, but next Wednesday (February 1st!), I want to write a Q&A on writing. So if you have any questions about my writing, or any questions about writing in general please leave a comment, or tweet me a question! (@aj_annajoy)

I will be back tomorrow for Throwback Thursday!

au revoir,
Anna Joy

 

Leave a Reply

