S E V E N T E E N

Seventeen. It’s never the anticipated age. It’s overlooked, stuck between 16 and 18; the prime ages of teen-hood.

The only notable thing about being seventeen is getting to practice magic outside of Hogwarts…but um, that’s not what this blog post is about.

Being seventeen is the calm before the storm.

You can still get away with being a kid, and yet you have gained a *little* bit of respect and responsibilities. (Definitely more than you had at 14.)

1494210108073.jpeg

A little known fact about me: My favorite number is 17. It always has been.

When I was younger I looked to 2017 with great anticipation, it was always the year I would graduate from highschool. And as all my older siblings passed through their years of graduation, I patiently waited for 2017.

I am currently 17 in 2017 (but only for one more month, eek!).
This is the time I have always waited for, these are the moments I anticipated.

It’s the calm before the storm.

You never think much about being 17, and yet it has proven to be my favorite.

Nothing extraordinary happened,  I have just been so content with being 17.

I really liked that I had time this year to truly discover who I am as a person.
Time to process life a little bit before life gets too busy.

I have no real point to this post, other than to say, don’t wish your life away.
Enjoy each age and each stage. And if you’re 17, embrace it.
You can’t turn back time, you’ll never truly experience that carefree summer again.
You’ll never regain the laughter of late nights and innocence.
Treasure all those memories, guard your heart, and enjoy.

There’s plenty to look forward to, and much to hold onto.

Also, I want to say: don’t stress out.

Everything will work out okay. It’s a great age that you freak out over the unknown.
People asking you left and right, “what are you doing with your life?”
I get it, we’ve inhabited this planet for 17 years, you think we would have contributed something to the world. But not yet, and that’s okay.
Everyone will get there, everyone will leave their mark eventually.

In the meantime, don’t do anything stupid. And enjoy being 17.

I know there will be plenty of people older than 18 thinking this is “cute” because being 18 isn’t really that much different than 17. But, it is.
It’s the fact that legally you’re an adult. You can vote, and do things you’ve never done before.

At eighteen, a majority of students graduate highschool and will begin a new chapter in their lives. Maybe it’s not adulthood in full swing yet, but it is still a new chapter, a new part of the story, a new adventure.

Childhood will have officially faded, the only remnants are the memories.
I feel oddly sentimental thinking back on life. I don’t remember the last time I played pretend. When was the last day I played with dolls? When was the last time I made a cake out of Play-Doh?

Those moments you never intentionally say good-bye to, they just drift off as you grow up.

I know there’s a lot about being seventeen I won’t remember 5 or 10 years from now.
I guess that’s why I am telling you–and reminding myself–to embrace the moment, and enjoy life. You never truly know when one moment is over and the next begins.

Seventeen, you’ve been amazing.
Let’s make this last month of being 17, the best month yet.

8 thoughts on “S E V E N T E E N

  1. Jeneca Z says:

    I totally forgot about being able to do magic outside Hogwarts! HOW COULD I HAVE FORGOTTEN THIS.
    Also: “Childhood will have officially faded, the only remnants are the memories.” < 😥 That's sadly beautifully true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hanne T says:

    Aw Anna, this was so sentimentally sweet!

    “Those moments you never intentionally say good-bye to, they just drift off as you grow up.” 😥😥😥😥 SO TRUE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

