back to basics // school style

Hello lovely humans,

I know, it’s only July, but some people are starting school in a few weeks.
Thankfully, I’m one of the lucky ones that doesn’t start until the end of August (YES!)
but it’s this time of the summer I start thinking ahead of back-to-school shopping.

I am mostly excited about school supplies, but I obviously can’t allow this season to pass without giving out some styling tips to make your early morning wardrobe choices easier.

BF1DDD8E-8519-4D79-9163-39490DE4D299BLOG

I was homeschooled, so I never had to worry about outfit choices, and there’s a 50% chance that by October I won’t be caring about my outfit choices (my motivation to work hard and look cute doesn’t last long).

In this post, I styled the outfits to be all about the basics.
Everyone has the plain t-shirt or pair of shoes that goes with everything, this post is all about how to style them to look the cutest, effortlessly.

1500475480761

 

First off, you will notice that the only pair of shoes featured, is a pair of Sperry Top-Siders. I have been wanting a pair of these shoes for a while– if you know me, you know I love canvas shoes– and these are absolutely perfect for the fall semester of school.
They are super comfortable and stylish, the only problem is keeping them white. haha!

1500475397041

They transition so well from summer style to fall attire.
I was able to find these at a discounted price of $25! I am all about finding the fashionable items for less. I am such a fan of places like T.J. Maxx, like seriously, it’s so worth hunting for the best deals.
If you are interested in this pair of shoes, this is a link to the Sperry website for the exact pair I have: Sperry Top-Siders.

1500475531110

Since school starts right at the end of summer, it can still be pretty warm out (*waits patiently for sweater weather*), so for the first outfit I styled a basic crop-top styled shirt with a pair of shorts. I know a lot of schools have dress codes– so please be respectful to rules– but for those of you that can wear shorts to school this is a great outfit to wear for the 100 degree school days.

And also, this crop-top isn’t even that croppy of a top. It lands at the top of the shorts.
So if you have a crop-top you want to wear to school, try pairing it with high-waisted shorts or pants. Keep it classy, ladies. 😉

I wanted to give hairstyle suggestions for outfits too, the three hairstyles shown in this post can easily be achieved with one hair-tie (or ponytail holder, or elastic, or a rubber-band…or whatever you call them).

1500476036577

This hairstyle is a simple half up-half down style. You could make it a half-up bun, or leave it in a ponytail. It’s great to keep your hair out of the way, and it looks super cute.

(Can I really say I write fashion blog posts if I don’t include a photo with me wearing fake glasses? I don’t think so.)

1500475623307

I mentioned the basic t-shirt, and this is the basic t-shirt outfit.
My go-to colors are always dark. Green, berry-toned red, or grey.
They are so versatile.
You can add a cute jacket with them or put a scarf with them in the fall.
Dress it up with a statement necklace, or dress it down with basic black jeans.

(How many times have I said basic? I don’t want to count.)

1500475965607

For this outfit, I paired it with a fishtail braid. These braids are so easy to master, I learned after watching a few YouTube videos on how to do it. They’re a hairstyle I recommend learning, I can’t tell you how many times I start the day with my hair down and it ends with my hair in a braid.

Fishtails add an extra element of cuteness, it looks like you spent a lot of time doing your hair, but really all you need is a minute.

 

1500475657757

 

The last outfit I had to include a letterman jacket.

Look. At. How. Cute. It. Is.

This isn’t really a last “outfit”, I just want a chance to tell you that you should get a jacket like this. Right now they are the *it* jacket.

Bomber jackets and letterman jackets are perfect for the cooler weather and they add an extra element of style and flair without breaking the bank, or taking much thought.

1500476068227

They go with so many outfits, and you might think you might not be able to find anything to wear with it, but the problem is actually trying not to wear it too often.
(Or maybe that’s just me.) They are one trend that I have fallen for so much.
Plus, this one had an ‘A’ on it, it was as close as I could get to saying, “It has my name on it!”

For this look, I wanted to stop you from the typical messy-bun, and suggest switching it up with a cute side-bun. I am guilty of getting stuck in the same hairstyle rut, and it’s usually a messy bun. All day every day.
But just switching it up a little, makes it look a little more elegant, even the most simplest of outfits will look more put-together by adding a new element to it.
(Notice I said simplest and not basic? haha.)

1500476204028

I hope these style tips and inspiration gave you some ideas to add to your routine and wardrobe to make school mornings a little easier.

And one last ounce of motivation and inspiration, here’s a playlist to get you motivated for school. It’s great to listen to while getting ready, or if you’ve had a rough day and need to get your spunk back.

My style get’s reflected into music and visa-versa. The music was picked based specifically for the styles in this post.
I always try capturing style and vibe both in wear and music.

So if you like these looks, you will probably like the sounds.

And if you want more style inspiration, follow me on Pinterest!

That’s all I have for today, I hope you all stay lovely and stay true to yourselves.

Always remember, that it doesn’t matter what you wear, what matters is what’s on the inside. Always wear your happiness, kindness, love, and courage…they never go out of style.

au revoir,
Anna Joy

Philippians 1:9-11

5 thoughts on “back to basics // school style

  1. Hanne T says:

    WHY. ARE. YOU. SO. CUTE.

    I’ve technically only finished school for less than two weeks? so I’m fighting every bit of back to school stuff as hard as I can? But SCHOOL SUPPLIES ARE HAPPENING AND I’M EXCITED. (I picked out a backpack yesterday and eep).

    You should write more fashion posts! I’m the most un-fashion-savvy person on the planet and I need these posts 😀 (also, do one about color coordination sometime if you can, because I sorely need help in that aspect)

    ^why I should not comment on blogposts too late at night. none of it makes sense

    Like

    • Anna Joy says:

      Aw you’re too sweet!! Thanks!

      SCHOOL SUPPLIES ARE THE BEEESSST!!!

      Thanks for your lovely feedback, I’d love to make more posts like this soon! 🙂
      And I can totally see what I can do for color coordination tips, I love writing posts that people actually want–it’s nice knowing I’m not just rambling about things people don’t want haha!!

      Long comments are my favorites, so you’re good. hahaha!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. S B Williams says:

    Cuute love the jacket. SO I found a bomber jacket at Target for $7. It wasn’t just on clearance, it was literally going to be ‘thrown away’ so to speak. They didn’t even have a price on it. I an employee about that, they took it to the back, wrote out a price and told me that they were going to toss this after unless I bought it haha. I think it would probably go to a discount store or goodwill or something but I’ll take the steal. 🙂 I should google how much it would actually have been.

    Like

Leave a Reply

